msgrKelly-masthead

9th through 12th Grade

Phone: (409) 866-2351 • Fax: (409) 866-0917
5950 Kelly Drive • Beaumont, Texas 77707 • www.mkchs.com
Office Hours: 7:30am – 4:00pm

History:

The school was founded as Our Lady of Perpetual Help School in 1895 and was associated with St. Louis Parish in what is now downtown Beaumont. Its first high school graduation took place in 1904.  The school’s name was changed to St. Anthony in 1907 when the parish changed its name with the dedication of a new church building. That building now houses St. Anthony Cathedral Basilica. St. Anthony High School was first accredited by the Texas Education Agency in 1925.

In 1927, under the leadership of the parish pastor, Monsignor E.A. Kelly, a separate building was constructed to house St. Anthony High School. The school continued to educate and form high school students until 1961 when the building was closed and later razed. The school moved into a new building at its present location in Beaumont’s west end and was dedicated as Central Catholic High School. Three years later, in 1964 the school was renamed in honor of Msgr. Kelly because of his many years of service as pastor and his constant support of Catholic education in both the parish elementary and high schools.

Over the past 25 years Msgr. Kelly Catholic High School has twice been named as a national Blue Ribbon School of Excellence and once as one of the Top Fifty Catholic High Schools in the United States.

Today Kelly High School is a vibrant 9-12, co-ed high school with 470 students.  Its strong academic expectations prepare students not only to be admitted to college but to be successful once they arrive.  Its strong spiritual formation program attempts to develop in students a love and appreciation of God’s presence and blessings in their lives.  Kelly High School offers an extensive list of athletic and fine arts activities as well as numerous clubs and organizations so students may explore their interests and develop their talents.

Founded: 1895